Four action areas of the NAP

The three pillars of the UN Guiding Principles form the basis for the four action fields of the National Action Plan for Business and Human Rights:

Commitment of the Federal Government

The first action area describes the duty of the state to protect human rights. This includes both the responsibility to protect human rights in its own activities and the task of supporting companies in implementing their due diligence obligations. Here, you can find detailed information about the state's duty to protect human rights.

Corporate due diligence obligations

In action area 2, the Federal Government formulates what it expects of companies with regard to their human rights due diligence in global supply and value chains. The five core elements of the due diligence obligation should provide guidance in this respect. Find further information about the corporate due diligence obligations.

Implementation support

Action area 3 subsumes the offers of support for enterprises that are available for the implementation of the human rights due diligence set out in the NAP. This includes, for example, guidelines, practical examples, consulting and training offers. You can find an overview of the implementation support.

Access to remedy and compensation

Action area 4 clarifies how access to remedy and compensation in the case of human rights violations related to companies should be guaranteed. Companies should establish complaint mechanisms to allow those affected to call attention to grievances. Find further information about acess to remedy and compensation.